top of page

The Most Sacred Day Of The Year


This weekend is one of the most important weekends of my life. As President Holland said, “…this is the most sacred day of the year for special remembrance of brotherly hands and determined arms that reached into the abyss of death to save us from our fallings and our failings, from our sorrows and our sins.”

It is a time where I get to cozy-up in my basement with my family and listen to truly inspired words from the Prophet and Apostles of my church. It is also a time that I get to refocus my attention to my Savior and the miracle that He is. The Miracle of His resurrection and His life. I feel so blessed to have the knowledge that I do of His gospel.

I’m so thankful I was placed in a family that helps me learn and grow. My little sister placed a note on top of my notebook when I went upstairs after the first session. At the beginning of the second session she asked me, “Did you get it?” meaning the note. I had read the note and stuck it in my notebook. I simply smiled at her and gave her a thumbs up. She smiled even bigger, returned the gesture, and sat down to watch conference. It made me happy to know that there is love in my family, and that something as simple as a tiny hand-written note and a thumbs up mean so much. I’m so grateful for my fam bam and that mine is eternal.

It wouldn’t be conference without the traditions. We go out to dinner before women’s conference (we’ve been choosing Zupas lately), homemade scones for breakfast in the morning, egg salad sandwiches from the eggs we decorated the day before, and lamb chops for dinner. We used to play bingo with candy when we were little, but now we just straight up get bowls of candy to snack on during conference. Ain’t nobody got time for bingo no more. My mom comes down with bags full of skittles and Swedish fish and jelly beans. Two words: Sugar. Overload. Then after priesthood session, the boys come back and we have pie and ice cream. Have you noticed a trend? Yeah, our conference traditions involve food and food only. Hahaha! I wouldn’t have it any other way.

There were so many talks I loved this year during conference.

Especially this one: Latter-day Saints Keep on Trying So good.

The day before, we had our family Easter egg hunt. And the day before that we decorated them.

^^^Playing a little game of “Don’t-Touch-The-Lava”. My favorite.^^^

^^^You see that? That’s string and it was placed all throughout the house, both floors. Each kid had to follow their string to find their Easter basket.^^^

^^^This is a terrible picture (it’s actually a screenshot of the video my mom was taking) but I thought it was hilarious – Kenedi having to lift her leg way up high to get around the string and Brayden in the background with his huge wad of string. Hahaha! I was smart and made a ball as I went so I wouldn’t have to untangle it later. Although I ended up being the one to untangle his anyway.^^^

^^^I didn’t have the patience to dye eggs, so I wrote on them instead.^^^

^^^Straight out of bed. No time to get ready when the Easter bunny had come!! Finally found it.^^^

There’s no time like family time. I’m trying to soak up every second that I can.


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page