top of page

The Subway

This last week I went with some of my wardies to Zion’s National Park to The Subway! No, not Subway-Eat Fresh. Subway-the hike. It was UNREAL. We hiked through the canyon, climbed up and down boulders, swam through FREEZING cold water, jumped 5 feet across a drop-off in the canyon, repelled down rocks and walls…

This was like my own little fear factor. Everything scared me to death but I did it all. I learned a major life lesson: if I can do that, I can do anything! It’s really all in your head. If you think you can, you will. If you think you can’t, you won’t. You will slip and get cuts and bruises, but you have get back up every time you fall. Every time.

This was a trip of a lifetime and I don’t regret it for a second. (Actually I regretted it the next morning when I couldn’t move, but I’m good now…)

Here are some pictures we took along the way!

{P.S. you can click on any or all of the photos for a closer-up view…}

^^^ ROAD TRIP!!!! !^^^

^^^ This is for all the gross smells you come across on the road…never going back. ^^^

^^^My dear friend Ashlee. Isn’t this such a good picture of her though?!?!? I mean, who looks this good carrying stuff in from a car?? Gotta love her. ^^^

^^^2nd worst sleep of my life…she took the entire couch haha! The 1st worst sleep was the night before when I slept on the ground and the condo was 2˚…so I shouldn’t complain.^^^

^^^ Fresh legs and big smiles…we had no idea what we were getting ourselves into… ^^^

^^^ Party on the rocks!! ^^^

^^^ Tired selfie ^^^

^^^That view! ^^^

^^^ Snack break and apple-throwing contest. I got 2nd place… ^^^

^^^Behind us is the opening to the Subway.^^^

^^^Neck-deep, FREEZING-cold water.^^^

^^^I don’t even know…^^^

^^^Soaking wet!^^^

^^^This swim was probably 20 yards and at one point there was a log in the way that we had to swim under. Again the water was freezing…but screaming always helps…^^^

^^^I found a frog!!!^^^

^^^I don’t know why I am smiling, because that was terrifying… All I could hear was, “Lean back! Straighten your legs!” I got the leaning back part down…^^^

^^^This was the actual Subway. The way the rock kind of curves makes it look like…you guessed it…a subway! ^^^

^This rock had water rushing down it. We all looked like break dancers trying to keep our balance! ^

^^^ Straight up, leg burning, quick breathing climb to the top! Pure bliss. ^^^

^^^ After 9 hours, we finally made it!!! ^^^

^^^ Nielson’s Frozen Custard with the crew. Please excuse my creepy face… ^^^

^^^ Exhausted. ^^^


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page