top of page

Press Rewind

I’ve been thinking a lot lately, about a lot of things. Particularly my future. College. Mission. Marriage. Kids. Bills. Happiness. I am so, so excited for what lies ahead for me, but at the same time, I wish life came with a remote-so I could push rewind.

I’d push rewind so I could start over and not make the same mistakes, but mostly rewind so I could be young again and relive the good times.

Rewind back to…

  • my glory days as class clown

  • when my lunches magically appeared in the fridge every morning – pbj, go-gurt, apple, and a cookie…

  • recess

  • 4 square

  • tether ball

  • touch football

  • fill-up-the-water-bottle-with-mud-water-and-throw-it

  • kickball

  • “accidentally” kicking our ball to where my “crush” was playing and he, in turn, kicking it further away (such love)

  • jump rope (I’ll never forget the day I jumped in the double dutch ropes for the first time-proud moment)

  • my pink camouflage roller backpack

  • jr. jazz – I had the sickest red jordans. I jumped so high…

  • late nights

  • basketball games

  • bike rides

  • my pool parties (summer birthday)

  • school clothes shopping every year with my mom and getting smoothies after (my favorite)

  • riding bikes and drawing chalk trails was my form of entertainment

  • grocery shopping with my dad was the highlight of my week

  • preschool graduation and those huge letter books-“Ted is a boy. He can run.”

  • jumping on the tramp

  • playing hot lava in the basement with the pillows and couch cushions

  • always being Ken when I played Barbies with my sister

  • Spaghetti O’s

  • making cookies every Sunday evening: no-bake, choc. chip, or oatmeal raisin – yum!

  • country music jam sessions that came with every car ride (93.3)

  • eating at least 5 otter pops a day

  • playing songs like “Mary Had a Little Lamb” and “Old McDonald” on the piano

  • sharing bunk beds with my older sister

  • telling made-up stories every night when the lights went out

  • when my dad tucked us in every night: scratch backs and “what did you do today?”

  • when one day back then, felt like 20 days now…

Alright, enough rewinding. We can press play now. Lets go eat some Top Ramen and live in a library!!!


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page